History of Pangea Math Europe

The first Pangea Math Europe was held in Germany in 2007. Since then, it has developed into a significant international mathematics olympiad. Over 3 million students from 22 European countries have competed in this competition so far. The countries that currently host the Pangea Math Europe are Germany, Italy, Hungary, Poland, Austria, Spain, Sweden, Norway, Iceland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Ireland, Switzerland, Lithuania, Denmark, England, Finland and Belarus.

Due to the Pandemic, the Pangea Math Europe has been held online since 2019. Each European country organizes its own competition rather than competing with one another. As a result, countries announce their own country results and rankings following the completion of the country finals.

Beginning with 2022, ​Pangea-Wettbewerbe e.V. committee presents the PANGEA MATH WORLD to all math-loving students and teachers. Students from all over the world can participate and compete in this new online competition format.  

The academic board members who have contributed to the development of the Pangea Math thus far are listed below:

Prof. Dr. Albrecht Beutelspacher
Director of the Mathematikum
Professor of Geometry and Discrete Mathematics
Justus-Liebig university of Giessen 

Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Weigand
Chair of Mathematics
Universität Würzburg 

Prof. Dr. Wilfried Herget
Chair of Mathematics
Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg 

Prof. Dr. Benjamin Rott
Professor of Mathematics
University of Cologne
(Head of the Pangea Task Commission) 

Dr. Michael Enzinger
Grundschule an der Lessingstraße (Ingolstadt) 

Prof. Dr. Karin Richter
Lecturer in didactics of mathematics
Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg 

Prof. Dr. Marcel Erné
Institute for Algebra, Number Theory and Discrete Mathematics
Leibniz University Hannover 

In addition, institutions such as the federal ministry of education, municipalities of various cities and local education directorates have supported the competition as patrons of the Pangea Math over the years.

Minister Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) was the patron of the Pangea Math from October 2013 to the end of 2015.

Greetings for the Pangea Math 2015

Geometric figures, number arithmetic, logical proofs - mathematics is diverse, and we encounter it in a variety of situations in our daily lives and at work. Mathematical phenomena are familiar to us from childhood. Children have a basic understanding of mathematics from a young age and frequently show a strong interest in numbers and quantities. We must ensure that they can develop this fundamental understanding as thoroughly as possible.

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research believes it is important to assist young people in their educational pursuits. We are very committed to stimulating interest in mathematical, scientific and technical disciplines. We support a wide range of projects and initiatives, including the "House of Little Researchers" and a number of youth competitions.

Pangea Math encourages students to deal with mathematical phenomena outside of the classroom in a unique way. The participants can experience how exciting it is to puzzle, calculate and finally come up with the right solution using different calculation methods. I am pleased that the competition gives the students the impression that everyone possesses mathematical abilities that help them understand the world.

I hope that many students will be enthusiastic about the Pangea mathematics competition again in 2015. I wish all participants a lot of fun while dealing with the various topics of mathematics. 

Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka
Federal Minister for Education and Research 


Patrons 2018

Regional finals Hanover: Mr. Stefan Schostok - Lord Mayor of the City of Hanover
Regional finals Cologne: Ms. Henriette Reker - Lord Mayor of the City of Cologne
Regional finals Munich: Mr. Dieter Reiter - Lord Mayor of the city of Munich
Regional finals Ludwigsburg: Mr. Werner Spec - Lord Mayor of the city Ludwigsburg
Regional finals Frankfurt: Mr. Peter Feldmann - Lord Mayor of the City of Frankfurt

Patrons 2017

Regional finals for North Rhine-Westphalia
Henriette Reker, Lord Mayor of the City of Cologne 

Regional finals for Rhineland-Palatinate & Hesse
Peter Feldmann, Lord Mayor of the City of Frankfurt / M 

Regional finals for Bavaria
Dieter Reiter, Lord Mayor of Munich

Patrons 2016:

Regional final event in Northeast Germany in Berlin
Ms. Katrin Schultze-Berndt - District Councilor for School Education and Culture in the Reinickendorf district 

Regional final event in Northwest Germany in Hanover
Mr. Stefan Schostok - Lord Mayor of the City of Hanover 

Regional final event North Rhine-Westphalia in Cologne
Mrs. Henriette Reker - Lord Mayor of the City of Cologne 

Regional final event Hesse, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland
Mr. Michael Ebling - Lord Mayor of the City of Mainz 

Regional final event Baden-Württemberg in Ludwigsburg
Mr. Werner Spec - Lord Mayor of the City of Ludwigsburg 

Regional final event Bavaria in Munich
Mr. Dieter Reiter - Lord Mayor of the City of Munich 

Patrons 2015

Regional final event for Northern Germany in Bremen
Senator for Education and Science - Eva-Quante-Brandt

Regional finals for Central Germany
Halle / Saale: City of Halle - Education and Social Affairs Division: Tobias Kogge
Gunnar Schellenberger - Member of the State Parliament of Saxony-Anhalt 

Regional finals North Rhine Westphalia in Cologne
Cologne: City of Cologne - Mayor Jürgen Roters 

Regional finals Hesse, Rhineland-Palatinate & Saarland
Frankfurt a. Main: City of Frankfurt - Mayor Peter Feldmann 

Regional finals Baden-Württemberg in Stuttgart
Stuttgart: City of Stuttgart - Mayor Fritz Kuhn 

Regional finals Bavaria in Ingolstadt
Ingolstadt: City of Ingolstadt - Mayor Dr. Christian Lösel